Events Details

Birth Anniversary of Shri V V Giri - President of India


• Shri V.V. Giri, was the only Independent candidate to have been elected to the post of the President so far. • Following the death of the then President Dr. Zakir Hussain on May 3, 1969, Shri V.V. Giri had to officiate as the President. • In 1969, Shri V.V. Giri was elected the fourth President of India. • Bharat Ratna recipient Shri V.V. Giri gave his assent to two revolutionary documents — the Shimla Agreement and Indira Gandhi’s bank nationalisation Bill. • In 1920, Shri V.V. Giri was put behind bars for protesting against the sale of liquor. • In 1923, Shri V.V. Giri became one of the founders of the All India Railway men’s Federation. • Shri V.V. Giri was twice elected President of the Trade Union Congress, in 1926 and 1942 respectively. • Shri V.V. Giri was a member of the Lok Sabha from 1952 to 1957 and from 1952 to 1954 he served as the Union Labour Minister. • Shri V.V. Giri also served as Governor of Uttar Pradesh, Kerala and Mysore. • Shri V.V. Giri has written two important books, one on "Industrial Relations" and the other on "Labour Problems in Indian Industry".

Invite a Friend